Sharing Personal Views in Microsoft Dynamics CRM

One of the many fantastic features available to users (and most often used) in Microsoft Dynamics CRM is the ability to create saved, personal views with an advanced find to see a filtered list of records.

While your System Administrator does his or her best to create a set of system views (available to all users) they simply can’t predict all the views that each viewer will want see.  Personal Views are a great way for users to get a quick, simple custom view of a specific list of records and retain that view for future reference.

But let’s say you add a member to your team where they will need to access this same list.  From time-to-time, you need to share your personal view with your manager, a direct report or another user. Instead of trying to explain your advanced find fields, using the snipping tool to ‘show them’ your advanced find or just letting them “reinvent the wheel” – Microsoft Dynamics CRM makes it really easy to share views.

Here is how simple it is to share a personal view in Microsoft Dynamics CRM:

  • Go to a View that you have created for yourself. Could be in Sales or Service where ever you have created a personal view will work.
  • Click on the Advanced Find Icon

advanced-find-dynamics-crm-1

 

  • A popup will appear and you will want to click on button called saved views

 

  • The saved views will display all the views you have saved for the given entity you have selected. Once in this view go ahead and check next to the view you would like to share.

advanced-find-dynamics-crm-3

  • Now that you have your view(s) to share go ahead and click on the Share Button and you will notice another popup appears (or Assign Saved Views if you want to make another user the new owner of this view). Choose the Add User/Team button and perform a look up for the user or team you are going to share the view with:

  • Now you can add single users or teams to share this view with. Examples of teams are Sales, Support, Management, etc. The nice thing about sharing a view with a ‘team’ is if a user adds or leaves a team, the view will automatically be visible or removed, saving someone lots of time from manually doing those updates.

advanced-find-dynamics-crm-5

  • Finally set the permissions that each user/group will have for the View. Is It Read Only? Can They Write, Edit or Assign it? Can they share it with another user?

advanced-find-dynamics-crm-6

  • Once you select the user or team to assign the view, click OK and you are all done. Keep in mind you will need to notify the user/team that they now have access to this view as out-of-the box Microsoft Dynamics CRM will not notify the users. For that, you will need to create a separate workflow.

Now, you have successfully shared your personal view with the team or user of your choice!

Like this tip? Pass it along to your team and social networks.

About Ledgeview Partners

Comments are closed.